Skip to main navigation.

Who We Are

Clarke Electric Cooperative, Inc., is a not-for-profit, electric distribution cooperative providing power to portions of eight counties in South Central Iowa: Clarke, Decatur, Lucas, Madison, Ringgold, Union, Warren and Wayne.

Watch this short video below to learn how we power our communities we serve! 



Our Mission
Safety Driven • Energy Smart • Community Invested

Here To Serve
We are continually exploring ways to provide our member-consumers with quality electrical service and products that enhance their security and peace of mind. Our basic philosophy is to provide the best possible service at the lowest cost consistent with sound economics and good management.

Born To Serve
In 1939, running electrical lines beyond the city limits was not profitable for investor-owned utilities. So a group of ambitious farmers decided to bring electricity to area farms by the formation of a co-op. In the fall of 1939, Clarke Electric Cooperative, Inc. was formed. Building power lines was the number one priority, but soon the cooperative needed someone to solicit membership and to map areas for proposed power line construction. Norman T. Miller was chosen for this position and became Clarke Electric's first manager. A local board of nine men, one from each of the service districts, was elected to guide the cooperative. Today's board realizes success is not measured by the miles of line or the number of kilowatt-hours sold, but by the satisfaction of our member-owners. Clarke Electric is still committed to providing member-consumers with reliable electricity and top quality customer service.



Powered by Touchstone Energy Cooperatives Logo