Skip to main navigation.


Central Iowa Power Cooperative (CIPCO), based in Cedar Rapids and with an office in Des Moines, is Iowa's largest cooperative energy provider. In operation since 1946, CIPCO has generated and transmitted electricity to 13 member-owned electric cooperatives and associations, including Clarke Electric Cooperative. These cooperatives distribute the power to populations of nearly 300,000 member-owners located in 58 of Iowa's 99 counties. The service territory stretches 300 miles diagonally across Iowa, with over 300 member substations and delivery points. CIPCO's energy sources are made up of 36.7% coal, 35.3% nuclear, 26.7% wind, hydro, soalr, landfill, 1% other purchases and 0.3% natural gas & oil. 

CIPCO System Map showing territory and generation sites


1 Western Area Power Administration Hydroelectric
2 Hancock County Wind Energy Center, Garner Wind
3 Story County Wind, Colo Wind
4 Elk Wind Farm, Greeley Wind
5 Hawkeye Wind Farm, Hawkeye Wind
6 Rippey Wind Farm, Grand Junction Wind
7 Pioneer Grove Wind Farm, Mechanicsville Wind
8 Summit Lake, Creston Natural Gas & Oil
9 NextEra Energy Duane Arnold, Palo Nuclear
10 Louisa Generating Station, Muscatine Coal
11 Walter Scott, Jr., Energy Center #3 & 
#4, Council Bluffs
12 Linn County Solid Waste Agency, Marion Landfill Gas
13-18 Solar Sites; Osceola, Pella, Marshalltown, Urbana, Wilton and Corning Solar
19 Heartland Divide Wind Energy Center, Audubon Wind


All or some of the renewable energy credits associated with this generation may have been sold or may be sold in the future to other parties.



Powered by Touchstone Energy Cooperatives Logo